Tourism Government

Horry County, Myrtle Beach SC

Vendor Information


Myrtle Beach, South Carolina



Horry County (pronounced O-REE) is located on the East Coast and is bordered on the north by the North Carolina state line. The County is approximately 100 miles north of Charleston, South Carolina, and approximately 150 miles east of the State Capital, Columbia, South Carolina. Horry County encompasses 1,134 square miles and boasts a population of over 196,000 year-round residents. Horry County beckons millions of visitors annually to view its natural beauty, participate in a myriad of fun-filled activities, and enjoy the old-world southern charm.

Incorporated in 1801, Horry County was a small, secluded community of 550 named in honor of Revolutionary War hero, Brigadier General Peter Horry. This beautiful, yet diverse land of swamps, rivers, and ocean has historically been referred to as the "Independent Republic" due to its geographical isolation. That isolation soon came to an end when the railroad arrived late in 1887. Over the years, many visitors came to Horry County, but the construction boom of 1970s and 80s is what transformed our quaint rural community to the tourist destination that it is today.